basic sauteed greens

The weekend is almost here and I. am. ready. The Georgia National Fair is in town and before you start rolling your eyes, the Marshall Tucker Band was playing a free concert last night. See? The fair is awesome. And as much as I wish Danielle Walker’s mini paleo corndogs would be there, I’ll have to settle for the fried Oreos.  How will I ever manage? 😉 #treatyoself

But today we’re not talking about copious amounts of (food)-on-a-stick. No, we’re sticking to our healthy, homemade guns with a weeknight, paleo and whole30 friendly recipe. Keep this easy recipe in your back pocket for any side dish involving dark, leafy greens. Spinach, kale, collards, turnip greens, sweet potato greens (yes they’re edible), mustard greens… you name it, you can cook it using this basic recipe.

Ingredients:
1 bushel greens (about 4-6 cups)
1-2 Tbs olive oil
1 clove garlic
1/8-1/4 cups homemade chicken stock
pepper sauce (optional)
Directions:

1 Buy greens bagged and pre-washed for quick and easy prep. If you by them whole from a farmer’s market, cut out the stalks and wash and rinse yourself. Pat dry.
2. Meanwhile, heat 1-2 Tbs of olive oil over medium heat in wok or large skillet
3. Add 1 clove crushed garlic and cook until aromatic
4. Add collards. Be they’re dry or they’ll pop like crazy! Toss gently until coated in oil
5. Add up to 1/4 cup chicken stock and cook until soft, salt and pepper to taste
6. Add pepper sauce to taste if desired

I actually started using this recipe when I nanny-ed for a family in college who first introduced me to swiss chard- yum! They used all natural, organic food, ingredients, and home cleaning supplies and really opened my eyes to the paleo and clean eating lifestyle. Of course when Mom left me with the ingredients and told me to “whip up dinner” while she was at work, my response was “Uh… sure.” So I had to learn quick using only the staples they had in the house!

I hope this recipe leaves you feeling a bit more prepared than I did. Eat those veggies! Go you 🙂

Leave a Comment

